Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage Profile

Our early years setting follows the curriculum as outlined in the 2017 statutory framework of the EYFS.

The EYFS framework includes 7 areas of learning and development that are equally important and inter-connected. However, 3 areas known as the prime areas are seen as particularly important for igniting curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building children’s capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

The prime areas are:

Communication and language

Physical development

Personal, social and emotional development


The prime areas are strengthened and applied through 4 specific areas:



Understanding the world

Expressive arts and design

At Royal Cross, we follow a 4 year Creative Curriculum theme cycle.

The children experience activities within each theme as they progress through the EYFS and KS1 and 2.

There is a helpful document available to parents to support your understanding of your child's development. 

It is available to read or download here.

‘Communication is Key’